Do you upgrade archery equipment regularly? - Mississippi Hunting and Fishing Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-24-2020, 04:20 PM   #1 (permalink)

Default Do you upgrade archery equipment regularly?

Seems like most serious bow hunters I know get a new bow every few years. Why is that? OF COURSE I understand the "GAS" (gear acquisition syndrome) aspect of it. Heck, I was a professional musician for 30 years, and I went through phases where I bought a new guitar or amp or pedal or toy every few weeks...just because!

But is there a practical reason? Do bows get better in the short term? Many years ago I bought a Mission bow - 70lb max, 29" draw length - that I'm very pleased with. I liked it the first time I released an arrow from it, and I like it even better now. It's well-made, balanced, solid back wall, perfect [for me] let-off, and most importantly I shoot it well. If I do my part I can achieve excellent accuracy. So I've never felt the slightest desire to replace it.

Other than just wanting something different, why do bow hunters buy new bows every couple years?
jakesnake66 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 07-24-2020, 05:52 PM   #2 (permalink)

I'm on my 3rd new bow since 2006. I shot a lot of bows with the intent to buy during that time frame but only walked out with a new one if I could honestly say it was an upgrade over the one I currently owned. The bow I have now (Mathews Halon 7) is responsible for my 4 biggest bow bucks. I can't even see thinking about upgrading it anytime soon. My arrow of choice has been the same since 2006. As far as accessories, they've pretty much remained the same for the past 10 yrs or so. I'm pretty sure I switched to Rage Hypodermics back in 2013. For the most part, as long as something is working, I stick with it.
Jbird22 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-25-2020, 11:26 AM   #3 (permalink)