Moving from mechanicals to fixed - Mississippi Hunting and Fishing Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-28-2020, 03:44 PM   #1 (permalink)

Default Moving from mechanicals to fixed

I've decided to transition from my Rage mechanicals to fixed broadheads. The primary reason is I do so much hunting from the ground. I need a broadhead that will stay put when I bump into limbs, brush, etc.

Here's the thing: I know very little about fixed broadheads, so for the purposes of this thread assume I'm a beginner.

The mechanicals I use - the "original" 2-blade expandable - fly exactly like my field points. So I've got 1/2 doz or so arrows with field points and a few with the Rage practice points. The target I use is NOT for use with fixed broadheads, so I assume my first order of business is to buy a new target, correct?

And since I need to practice with my broadheads - and not field points like I do now - I'll need to buy 2x as many broadheads as I need for hunting so I can use the others for practice, correct?

Can fixed broadheads fired into a target be used for hunting, so long as I can sharpen them adequately? Or is it best to reserve some for practice and never use the "hunting" heads for anything other than shooting at a deer?

To y'all experts these will sound like silly "newbie" questions, which is exactly my purpose.

thanks for all input!
jakesnake66 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 07-28-2020, 03:58 PM   #2 (permalink)