Need advice on heartworms - Mississippi Hunting and Fishing Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-14-2020, 09:59 AM   #1 (permalink)

Default Need advice on heartworms

My son recently took on a 4.5 yr large cur (original mountain cur). He's a good squirrel/coon dog, and we've taken to him. When we got him he was VERY skinny, and over 3-4 weeks I was able to put 10 lbs on him, and he's looking really good. His energy is good, and he's already given us several great hunts (I'm tired of cleaning squirrels!) lol

Anyway, took him in for full checkup, shots, etc, and he was diagnosed with heartworms. It may as well be coronavirus as far as what I know about it. I have ZERO experience with this condition. So I'm here asking for advice.

What do we do now?

thanks!
jakesnake66 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 02-14-2020, 11:28 AM   #2 (permalink)

Our lab had heart worms for a few years. A truck killed her before the worms did. She was 10. I’m not saying don’t get her treated for them but we opted not to treat her and she lived normal until she was hit.

Last edited by Rancher; 02-14-2020 at 11:31 AM.
Rancher is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-14-2020, 12:17 PM   #3 (permalink)

Several years ago I went with the treatment on a 7 year old lab. Bout a grand total and a difficult process. (kennel kept for months, etc) Treatment seemed to work in the heart. But the damage done and worms in lungs killed her a little less than a year after treatment. Like Rancher, I'm certainly not saying don't have him treated but I won't do it again (hopefully never have to make the decision)
Pilgrim is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 02-14-2020, 03:23 PM   #4 (permalink)