?? regarding types of hunting club selection - Mississippi Hunting and Fishing Forums
LinkBack Thread Tools
Unread 09-13-2020, 10:25 AM   #1 (permalink)

Default ?? regarding types of hunting club selection

For those with the experience here, when selecting a hunting club, what would be the difference in pros/cons to each of these:

1) hunting club based solely on yearly dues
2) equity share in hunting club

I understand #1 is cheaper, but #2 seems to have major benefits. E.G. ownership in the club, possibly more ground to hunt than either buying land, investment, etc.

I have tried #1 and I see opportunities for #2 but I have no experience with it.
born22hunt is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Unread 09-14-2020, 02:54 PM   #2 (permalink)
Administrator

Both can be great, or horrible.

With #2, you are literally going into business with a group of people. There should be an operating agreement. Unless you are well versed in reviewing them, go pay a couple bucks to someone that is so they can tell you the pitfalls of what you are walking into.

Quite often, you will have layers of corporations. One will be the company that actually manages the club. The second will own the property. I have seen instances where a person that is a shareholder in the property ownership get kicked out of the club. To make matters more difficult, you will often see restrictions on transfer (i.e. you can't transfer your ownership unless the company approves.) It isn't unusual to see buyback agreements or a right of repurchase thrown in. Mandatory capital contributions (sometimes limited, sometimes not) for land improvements or repairs. Yearly dues for continuing costs, etc.

It isn't all gloom and doom. There are some really great equity clubs out there. But, there are also some headaches.
Unread 09-14-2020, 05:59 PM   #3 (permalink)

Quote:
Originally Posted by randywallace View Post
Both can be great, or horrible.