How's rabbit hunting these days? - Mississippi Hunting and Fishing Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-07-2020, 03:25 PM   #1 (permalink)

Default How's rabbit hunting these days?

The first kind of hunting I truly fell in love with was rabbit hunting. As a teenager I'd hunted dove, squirrel, and deer, and liked them all. But when I was a freshman in HS, a buddy took me rabbit hunting with his pack of beagles. It was my first experience with hunting dogs, and I was mesmerized! Sure, harvesting the rabbits was GREAT fun, but watching/hearing those incredible dogs just blew my mind. I never did pursue it with my own pack of beagles, but I accompanied rabbit hunters anytime I could. My last rabbit hunt was probably around 1987.

Right before season ended, my son brought home 3-4 large cottontails that I cleaned and put up. Yesterday I thawed a couple out, parboiled them, seasoned and fried them in peanut oil. I made some rice...some gravy...green beans...and suddenly I was transported back a couple decades. It was so good I can't even describe it! So, of course, this morning I woke up thinking about rabbits and rabbit hunting.

I know it varies by specific location, but in general what is the state of rabbit hunting in MS these days? Thirty years ago rabbits were plentiful in NW MS. A guy with a good pack of beagles could do very well weekend after weekend. These days? I have NO idea. I know I don't see them like I used to. I'm sure coyotes have had an impact, and of course rabbits depend on habitat that isn't as common now as it used to be.

Is this a good time or bad time to consider getting into rabbit hunting?
jakesnake66 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 03-08-2020, 08:51 AM   #2 (permalink)
jlt