Looking for a decent beginner flyfishing rig - Mississippi Hunting and Fishing Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-06-2020, 01:42 PM   #1 (permalink)

Default Looking for a decent beginner flyfishing rig

I used to fly fish back in my teens 40 years ago. I havent done it since, so just assume I am a rookie. Give me some ideas on beginner setups, and flys for bass and bream to start with. I would like to try a marsh trip next year.

Thanks,
Trav
magnoliahunter is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 07-06-2020, 02:38 PM   #2 (permalink)

By bream and bass, are you saying you want to cast the bigger bass poppers or use bream size flies and catch whatever bass hit them? A 5wt rod will handle pretty big bass, and slot reds but throwing the bigger bass poppers or normal sized redfish flies will be too much for it. For bass and marsh fishing a 7 or 8 wt rod is more fitting. As far as beginner outfits it depends on your budget. TFO, Echo, and Redington all make lower priced rod/reel combos. However, I have not fished any of them so I can't begin to recommend one.
Old 07-12-2020, 09:36 AM   #3 (permalink)

Default thanks guys

I'll check out some 7/8 wt rods and get back with more questions.

thanks,
Trav

Old 07-12-2020, 12:28 PM   #4 (permalink)

I second Bob on the 7 or 8wt. I primarily use 2 different 7wts. I have one with a more moderate action with a pretty standard grain line for most of my fishing. I also have a faster 7wt with a heavier line (SA Titan taper) for casting in the wind or for bigger flies.

We could also be a bit more help if we knew your budget for the rod and reel only.
Cej2525 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-12-2020, 02:03 PM   #5 (permalink)